history EFQM

Background and history of the models

At the end of the 1980s, while, when the European economy was under threat from the expansion of the Far East and especially Japanese markets, Heads of leading European companies have decided to answer the call in the area of ​​competitiveness, thrown Europe.

“For the first time in the history of leaders 14 European multinationals, ie around 7 million people came together and stood all day on the square.. expressing interest, 14 the presidents of all the day to keep everything in their own hands! Therefore it was important to. All this is an open, combined Commitment to Quality. All this impressed” – Comelius der kluge, former Managing Philips (Netherlands) and the first president of EFQM.

organized in 1988 g. The European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM) teamed the most successful companies for the dissemination of the latest advances in management. As a result, 1991 The model was developed by EFQM business excellence , on which to 1992 , the first European Quality Award was awarded. By that time there were already similar Baldrige Award (USA) and Deming (Japan), underlying criteria which have a lot in common with the EFQM model. The model became the basis for national quality award in the country 21evropeyskoy, including Russian (Russian Federation Government Prize in the field of quality).

AT 2001 g. a new scheme of recognition of the organizations success in the application of the model was introduced, It is known as the "Levels of Excellence". The scheme is designed to assess the degree of maturity of organizations, applying the EFQM model, and at different levels of the path to Perfection.

it allows you to:

  • Designate clear milestones on the road to perfection.
  • Maximize the number of organizations, applying the fundamental concepts and principles of the EFQM Excellence Model.
  • Provide organizations with practical tools and services to facilitate their improvement.
  • Provide an informed and authoritative for all of the European countries with the participation of recognized organizations and the EFQM national partner organizations.

Since the establishment of EFQM Model is regularly reviewed and updated, taking into account innovation in management and all the best, that was virtually tested organizations, although these changes were not of a fundamental nature. In particular, in the latest version of the previous model name deleted the word “business” (“business excellence”) at the insistence of non-profit organizations – educational and government (municipal) structures. Currently, we are working to revise the wording of the fundamental concepts of Excellence.

Previous levels of Excellence
The next EFQM Award for Excellence (EFQM Excellence Award)
  Back to home